If You’re Just Tuning In…

Social media is a powerful force. This little blog is proof of that.

Seasoned readers know that, occasionally, I deviate from Foos, food, and music, and discuss other things. Sometimes, there’s something big happening in the world, and I feel compelled to share my feelings about it. Last week was one of those weeks.

And apparently, I struck a chord with a lot of people. Last week’s blog had more views, more shares (on Facebook and Twitter), and more comments than any installment I’ve written to date. Over 1100 views in five days. Last Saturday alone, the blog had nearly 500 views. About 15 new subscribers, too. This would be small potatoes for some of the more seasoned and well-established bloggers out there. But for me, it was pretty spectacular.
More than 1100 views! And most of them were from people I’m not even related to!

So if you read and shared last week’s blog, thank you. If you’ve been with me for a while, you probably know that, as blogs go, this one is still in its infancy. It takes time to build an audience. Every time you read WWFF, every time you share it, you help to push me one step closer to doing that. And I appreciate you for that.

But maybe last week’s blog was your introduction. You might be wondering what it’s all about. What is Will Work For Foos, anyway?

If you’re just tuning in, here’s the gist: middle-aged empty nester Jewish Mother shares the day-in, day-out of life while planning and plotting to land her dream job: to go to work for the most fabulous rock band ever, Foo Fighters.

That’s what it’s all about. Pretty simple, right? A little crazy, sure, but I’m absolutely serious about it.

I love this band. Their music has transformed my life in ways I would have never imagined. They’ve given me hope, and strength, and courage. They have guided me and pushed me, and through them I have found a new direction for my life. I believe their music saved me. So of course, I feel like I owe them.

Five musicians. Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins, Nate Mendel, Chris Shiflett, and Pat Smear. They have led me down a new path, a better path. And yet, they don’t even know me. Not yet, anyway.

But one day, they will.

Rather than rehash the last fourteen months of blogs, I’m going to direct those of you just joining us here to read the first two installments of Will Work For Foos, The Seeds of Destiny, and Everybody Needs a Jewish Mother. It will all make more sense after that. And if you like, wander back through the archives at your leisure. I’m sure you’ll find something that will appeal to you.

I discuss food in this blog. Often. I cook and I bake, and I frequently share those experiences. Feeding people is one of the things Jewish Mothers do best. If you like food, check out a few of these past installments: Mama’s Kitchen, In Your Honor, I Will Fry Tonight, Baked, or The Beast.

Oh, and have I mentioned the monthly baked goods contest? Just for subscribing and reading along, you’re automatically entered in a monthly drawing for free baked goods, delivered straight to your door. The Foo Fighters may not know my kitchen skills yet, but you can. Just like Ray, in Shelton, CT, my June contest winner. He’ll be receiving a pan of lemon squares next week (congrats, Ray!), just because he decided to follow my blog. Ray’s an artist and a blogger as well. You should check out his stuff – it’s pretty amazing!

Are you a music lover? So am I, obviously. An admitted rock & roll junkie, actually. A 53 year-old teenager rediscovering the joy of good music. Music is often my topic of choice. Check out My Rock and Roll Soul, The Paths We Choose, Lend Me Your Ears, or Have iPod, Will Travel.

Now, if you came here because you enjoyed last week’s piece, I don’t want you to feel like you’ve been duped. True, this blog is not always an outlet for my political opinions, but I share my feelings about a number of socially relevant topics on a fairly regular basis. You might enjoy reading Give a Little Bit, The Content of Our Character, Hunger Games, Unsportsmanlike Conduct, or Neckties and Starched Shirts.

One thing you can always expect from this blog is that I’ll be honest, regardless of the topic. And brace yourself. I’ve been known to cuss like a sailor. It’s not gratuitous, I promise. It’s just me. I won’t apologize for it, as I am not sorry. But you deserve to know going in.

This blog has served as my creative outlet for the last fourteen months. In writing it, and sharing it, I’ve allowed myself to express out loud the dream job I hope to one day land. But something else has happened in the process. This blog has allowed me to open up about all sorts of things.

It’s about the band, of course. Foo Fighters, they who have so captivated and guided me, are a part of it, of course. Every writer needs a muse, after all, and this band is mine. But there’s much more to it. And it’s a story that is always evolving.

I started writing as a means of one day catching the attention of the band. You could say that Will Work For Foos is my weekly communique to the Foo Fighters. My initial plan was to write as honestly as possible, and to write from my heart, and eventually, to grow this blog into one that might easily catch the attention of Dave, Taylor, Nate, Chris, or Pat. In my mind, at least, one of them would read it, and be intrigued enough to say “Hmmmm. Well, she may be crazy, but I wouldn’t mind having someone around to fix coffee and fry chicken. This could be fun.”

But then something else began to happen. My muses prompted some true soul-searching in me. As the blog continued, I began to think perhaps there was more to be done than just for me to get a job as Jewish Mother to a rock band. Perhaps that wasn’t really the be-all and end-all for me. Maybe getting that job was a first step to something even better. Something that would matter, not just to me, and not just to the band.

Maybe I’d found this band, and embarked on this journey, because it would ultimately lead me to something that could make a difference in the world.
You can call this destiny, or karma, or kismet. A dreamquest, perhaps, or a mission. Whatever it is, I know that I have to continue down the path. How I found the path, I’m not certain. But I know it’s where I’m supposed to be.
Keep reading along. I think you might just enjoy it.

2 thoughts on “If You’re Just Tuning In…

  1. Wow, I can’t believe it has been 14 months already! I have loved reading your inspired missives on music, food, politics, and life! To me, your last paragraph perfectly captures the essence of why it’s so important for us to follow the breadcrumbs the universe leaves for us…to take the next right step, the next creatively-aligned action, even when it doesn’t seem to make any sense. If we do those things, it leads us home. I have no doubt this blog is a part of your trip there. xo

Leave a Reply

